Lang Pioneer Village
Lang Pioneer Village Museum was established by the County of Peterborough in 1967 to celebrate and preserve the rural history of the area. Each year, thousands of visitors from around the world take a trip back in time to discover how the pioneers lived.
Nestled along the banks of the historic Indian River, Lang Pioneer Village Museum features over twenty-five restored and furnished buildings constructed between 1825 and 1899. Many of the buildings were donated by townships within the County of Peterborough and moved to their present site when the Museum was founded.
As a "living history" Museum, the employees and volunteers work as costumed interpreters within such buildings as the Blacksmith Shop, Tinsmith Shop, S. W. Lowry Weaver Shop and many more. The Museum also hosts numerous special events each year such as Applefest and Christmas by Candlelight. To learn more about Lang Pioneer Village Museum visit www.langpioneervillage.ca.